Tuesday, May 28, 2013

June 2nd: Vatican invites Catholics around the world, to join the Pope in prayer




May 28, 2013. (Romereports.com) On June 2nd, Catholics worldwide will pray simultaneously. It will be a truly historic event: Pope Francis will lead the Eucharistic adoration in St Peter's Basilica, joined by the faithful in cathedrals all over the world.

ARCH. RINO FISICHELLLA
President, Pontifical Council for the New Evangelization
“It will be a historic moment, because for an hour cathedrals throughout the world will be in communion with the Pope in Eucharistic adoration. We had a massive support to this initiative: it extends beyond the cathedrals and involves episcopal conferences, parishes and religious congregations, especially cloistered convents and associations.”

It is going to be a simple celebration, with no speech or homily by the Pope. However, the Vatican will broadcast footage of the Basilica and connect with countries around the world. Prayer will take place between 5 and 6 PM Italian time (16.00-17.00 GMT). In Mexico, it will be at 10 am, in Iceland at 3 in the afternoon. Korea and Japan will pray at midnight; Papua New Guinea at one in the morning and Honolulu at 5 am.

MSGR. JOSE OCTAVIO RUIZ ARENAS
Secretary, Pontifical Council for the New Evangelization
“It will be a great encouragement for all Christians to know that we are praying together with the Holy Father for the same intentions. First of all, that the Church may be holier, purer and more immaculate. Also, we will pray for Christians to be an expression of the Lord's love and mercy. Finally, for something that the Holy Father holds very dear: that we may turn to those who suffer and travel to the outskirts of society.”

According to the Vatican, since the Year of Faith began on October 11, 2012, some 4.3 million pilgrims have participated in the scheduled events.

Another mass meeting is on the agenda in June: Evangelium Vitae Day, which will culminate in a Mass celebrated by the Pope in St. Peter's Square on Sunday 16.

No comments: